The Muddy Awards – A Premier Blues Night

Muddy AwardThe biggest single night for the Portland blues community returns again to The Melody Ballroom on Wednesday, November 2 as the Cascade Blues Association presents its annual Muddy Awards. Honoring musical achievements from the past year, awards will be handed out to recipients in twenty-two categories to stand-out musicians, venues, recordings, events, and more.

Members of the Cascade Blues Association Board of Directors, musicians, and other blues industry notables will present awards to the winners who were selected by members of the CBA through an online ballot.

And what would an event recognizing musical talent in our area without music be? Well, no worries there as the night will feature three sets of terrific blues performances.

Opening the night prior to the awards being handed out, this year’s Journey To Memphis band winners, Rae Gordon & The Backseat Drivers, will take the stage and set the perfect mood for the celebration.

Midway through the award presentations, our Journey To Memphis solo/duo winner, David Pinsky, will entertain us through a brief intermission.

Then following the awards, we will have an all-star line-up of past and present Muddy Award nominees and recipients, brought together by this year’s band leader Ken DeRouchie. Along with Ken on guitar and vocals, expect to see these amazing musicians take part in the set: Arietta Ward, Ben Turner, Brian Harris, Chris Lay, Dave Fleschner, David Cachere, Doug Rowell, Edwin Coleman III, Jeff Knudson, Jimi Bott, Lisa Mann, Noah Bell, Pete Petersen, Peter Dammann, Peter Moss, Rae Gordon, Rob Busey, and Timmer Blakely. (Please be advised that this line-up is subject to change.)

Do not miss this night. The fun will kick off at 6:30 pm with the opening set of music, with award presentations following immediately after at around 7:30. Entry to the Muddy Awards is free for Cascade Blues Association members and an incredible $5.00 for non-members to witness one of the most anticipated nights for blues in Portland. The Melody Ballroom is located at 615 SE Alder Street and the event is open to all ages.

The 2016 Muddy Award nominees are:

Contemporary Blues Act:
Ben Rice Band
Kevin Selfe & The Tornadoes
Lisa Mann & Her Really Good Band
Thunder Brothers

Traditional Blues Act:
AC Porter & The Live Wires
Ben Rice Band
Julie Amici
Kevin Selfe & The Tornadoes

 “Lloyd Jones” R&B Act:
Andy Stokes
Ken DeRouchie Band
Norman Sylvester Band

Regional Blues Act:
Gabriel Cox
Hank Shreve Band
Polly O’Keary & The Rhythm Method
Sammy Eubanks

New Act:
Harvey Brindell & The Tablerockers
The Blues Cabaret
Thunder Brothers

“Duffy Bishop” Female Vocalist:
LaRhonda Steele
Lisa Mann
Rae Gordon

“Curtis Salgado” Male Vocalist:
Andy Stokes
Ben Rice
Brian Foxworth

Electric Guitar:
Alan Hager
Ben Rice
Kevin Selfe

“Terry Robb” Acoustic Guitar:
Alan Hager
Ben Rice
Lloyd Jones
Mary Flower

Allen Markel
David Kahl
Lisa Mann

Dave Fleschner
Dover Weinberg
Steve Kerin

“Jimi Bott” Drums:
Brian Foxworth
Dave Melyan
Don Shultz

Franco Paletta
Hank Shreve
Jim Wallace
Mitch Kashmar

Brad Ulrich
Chris Mercer
Joe McCarthy
Peter Moss

Lake Theater & Café
The Blue Diamond
Trails End Saloon

The “Hurley” Award (for stage crew excellence):
Barry McKinley
Barry Saxberg
Darren Mach

NW Recording:
Curtis Salgado – The Beautiful Lowdown
Karen Lovely – Ten Miles Of Bad Road
Kevin Selfe – Buy My Soul Back
Lisa Mann – Hard Times, Bad Decisions

National Recording:
Bonnie Raitt – Dig In Deep
Curtis Salgado – The Beautiful Lowdown
Danielle Nicole – Wolf Den
Janiva Magness – Love Wins Again
Tedeschi Trucks Band – Let Me Get By

NW Event:
Bronze Blues & Blues Festival
Gorge Blues & Brews Festival
Mysti Krewe Of Nimbus Mardi Gras Ball
United By Music North America at Hotel Rose

Performance of the Year:
Kevin Selfe Buy My Soul Back CD Release Party at Bossanova Ballroom
Karen Lovely at Waterfront Blues Festival
United By Music North America at Waterfront Blues Festival

“Back What You Believe In” (for non-performance excellence in the blues community):
Dean Mueller
Ken DeRouchie
Norman Sylvester
Wendy Schumer

“Paul deLay” Lifetime Achievement:
David Kahl
Frankie Redding
Jimi Bott