30th Annual Muddy Awards Held in Spectacular New Fashion

2021 Muddy Awards

30th Annual Muddy AwardsThe 30th annual Muddy Awards took on a new venue, new format and an old look for the actual award, and it all came across in spectacular fashion. Now including multiple short showcases featuring nominated acts, everything fell in line and on time. The big winners of the night had to be Curtis Salgado & Alan Hager, with their recording Rough Cut taking home both the best Northwest and National Recording awards, while they also were named the top Traditional Blues Act. To put just an extra touch to it all, Alan Hager was also named the Electric Guitar recipient. Four new inductees into the Muddy Hall of Fame (a person needs to win a respective category three consecutive years for this honor): Alan Hager (Electric Guitar), Steve Kerin (Keyboards), LaRhonda Steele (“Duffy Bishop” Female Vocalist) and Mary Flower (“Terry Robb” Acoustic Guitar). The “Paul deLay” Lifetime Achievement was presented to Robbie Laws.

Special thanks goes out to board member James Kosek for taking a lead, obtaining the venue and putting together the new format, Paul Wyss for putting together the presentation, and Wendy Schumer, Greg Johnson, and Shelley Garrett for multiple behind the scenes work. To all of the board members for their hard work and the numerous volunteers necessary this year to provide work at the front door and in the green room

The 2018 Muddy Awards Winners are:

Contemporary Blues Act: Ben Rice

“Lloyd Jones” R&B Act: Norman Sylvester Band

Traditional Blues Act: Curtis Salagado & Alan Hager

New Act: Johnny Wheels & The Swamp Donkeys

Regional Act: Hank Shreve Band

“Duffy Bishop” Female Vocalist: LaRhonda Steele (Hall of Fame induction)

“Curtis Salgado” Male Vocalist: Ben Rice

Electric Guitar: Alan Hager (Hall of Fame induction)

“Terry Robb” Acoustic Guitar: Mary Flower (Hall of Fame induction)

Bass: Lisa Mann

Keyboard: Steve Kerin (Hall of Fame induction)

“Jimi Bott” Drums: Brian Foxworth

Harmonica: Mitch Kashmar

Horns: Pete Moss

Venue: Catfish Lou’s

“The Hurley Award”: Jeri Davis-Paletta

Northwest Recording: Curtis Salgado & Alan Hager- “Rough Cut”

National Recording: Curtis Salgado & Alan Hager – “Rough Cut”

Northwest Event: Benefit for David Kahl

Performance of The Year: Beth Hart @ Waterfront Blues Festival

“George Page” Back What You Believe In: Steve Pringle

“Paul deLay” Lifetime Achievement: Robbie Laws